Member Recommendations

Rough River Gold Episode Three Buffalo Grass Rider by Allen Russell.

If you love Westerns then you are going to love this book. In the end good triumphs over evil. It was one wild ride, filled with epic battles. It has incredible stories of survival against all odds. It is also filled with love and laughter.

Bolt Ashton is one of a long list of colorful characters which includes women and children. Scarlett, Rachel, Lana, Miss Gerty, Florien, and Mrs. Penny add depth. Eb and other men bring drama to a story that never stops flowing.

The action packed story stretches from Montana to Mexico. It travels over water and land on horseback, stage, and boat.

I love this book. I know the author.

Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand is the August selection for Books & Beyond. 

This is a good book. I have a new appreciation for the men named on the monument in front of the courthouse. It is a story of incredible survival against all odds. When I started reading it, I was reading 30 pages daily. Because I did not want to be haunted by the gruesome images, I finished reading the book by reading 20 pages daily. I have a vivid imagination. I am better for reading this book. I have a connection to my faith.

I am like my father (Pa) is this. I pass on war movies.

I will add one quote. “Finally, I wish to remember the millions of Allied servicemen and prisoners of war who lived the story of the Second World War. Many of these men never came home; many others returned bearing emotional and physical scars that would stay with them for the rest of their lives. I come away from this book with the deepest appreciation for what these men endured, and what they sacrificed, for the good of humanity. It is to them that this book is dedicated.”

Reviewed by Sharon S. 😊

One thought on “Member Recommendations

Leave a Reply

